AUDIOSCOPE15 lineup announced – Plaid, Gazelle Twin and more!

When we started out in 2001 with the idea to fill one day with as much amazing music as we could find, we didn’t even know there’d be a second edition, let alone that we’d be celebrating our our FIFTEENTH birthday. 

And here we are, ready to announce the lineup for AUDIOSCOPE15.

The show will be headlined by electronica legends Plaid, while The Quietus’ Album of the Year 2014 Gazelle Twin will be performing this intimate show for us just days before her headline date at the Barbican.

At the noisier end of the lineup, we have a rare show from the UK’s loudest band Part Chimp (who plaid the loudest AUDIOSCOPE show in our history at our warmup show in 2004), prog-kraut veterans Guapo, the hypnotic grooves of Kogumaza (with three-times AUDIOSCOPE veteran guitarist Chris Summerlin) and necro-psych Londoners Taman Shud.

We’re delighted to bring back Thrill Jockey’s latest signing Dave Heumannwho will be performing as part of his debut European solo tour with members of Trembling Bells and his former band Arbouretum (one of the stars of AUDIOSCOPE in 2012). We’re also pleased to have Demian Castellanos of long-standing favourites The Oscillation, who will present his solo work blending Indian ragas with enveloping electronic drones and pulses.

On a break from new work in the studio, Manchester-based ambient innovators Marconi Union – authors of ‘the world’s most relaxing song’ with the British Academy of Sound Therapy – will perform an exclusive improvised set just for us.

One of the hottest new local prospects on the block, Oxford’s Kone promise ‘art music for guitars’, and deliver on the idea that pop music can both move the heart and stimulate the brain.


Since 2001, more than 200 artists from across the UK and beyond have supported Audioscope, raising almost £29,000 for Shelter.

Audioscope 2015 takes place at The Bullingdon, Cowley Road, Oxford on 21 November 2015. Tickets are available now for £15 in advance from




AUDIOSCOPE14 lineup announced – Public Service Broadcasting, Silver Apples and more!

After months of working behind the scenes, the time has come to announce the lineup for the fourteenth Audioscope festival!

We are very proud to have the amazing electro-archivists Public Service Broadcasting as headliners, following electronica legends Silver Apples, one of the most influential electronic artists of the past sixty years.

But the surprises on this year’s bill don’t stop here. We will also have Wrangler, the exciting new band from members of Cabaret Voltaire, Benge and Tunng; breakbeats, noise and folk all in the same set from Third Eye Foundation’s Matt Elliott and experimental shoegazers The Telescopes (who played Audioscope 10 years ago and ended up drilling a guitar on stage!). There will also be cutting-edge electronica from Circle Traps, dark tales of Australian history from The Doomed Bird of Providence and extraordinary multi-layered vocal gymnastics from You Are Wolf. In addition, The Neon Violets and Kid Kin, two of Oxford’s most thrilling discoveries, will bring their lysergic psych-rock and crystalline electronics to the stage.

The festival takes place at The Jericho in Oxford on Saturday 8 November. Tickets are available now for £15 in advance from and as usual, all profits go to support Shelter’s vital work and campaigning.

With your help and support, we’ve raised more than £27,000 for Shelter so far. Since 2001 we’ve brought leftfield and alternative musical artists to Oxford – Four Tet, Wire, Explosions in the Sky, Damo Suzuki (Can), Clinic, Michael Rother (Neu!), Grumbling Fur and Deerhoof are just some of of the names. We are very excited about this year’s lineup, and we hope you are too!

The full lineup is:

Public Service Broadcasting

Silver Apples

Matt Elliott (Third Eye Foundation, Flying Saucer Attack)

The Telescopes

Wrangler (Cabaret Voltaire/Benge/Tunng)

You Are Wolf

Circle Traps

The Doomed Bird of Providence

Kid Kin

The Neon Violets

Music For A Good Home is out today!

The big day is here at last! Today (16 June) we release not one, but TWO fantastic albums.

Music For A Good Home 3 – 31 new and exclusive tracks from the best alternative musicians around the world
Music For A Good Home – Oxford Edition – our snapshot of the vibrant Oxfordshire music scene

The most important thing to know is that because every single band and artist has donated their music for free, all of the proceeds from both albums go directly to helping Shelter’s vital work fighting homelessness and bad housing in the UK.

We’ve been touched and inspired by the goodwill, support and energy for the cause and for Audioscope that every artist has shown while we’ve been putting the album together. There’s a total of FIFTY tracks across two albums, taking in everything from electronica and experimental noise to beautiful folk and raucous guitars, there really is something for everyone.

Here’s what John Parish, who donated beautiful track ‘That Car’, said to us.


‘Music For A Good Home – Oxford Edition’ also announced!

Another week and another album release from Audioscope! To complement our new album Music For A Good Home 3, we really wanted to showcase the best of the music scene that we call home ourselves – Oxford.

So we’re proud to present our very own snapshot of the best music from Oxfordshire, Music For a Good Home – Oxford Edition. The album is made up of 19 tracks of new and exclusive music taking in every aspect of Oxford’s diverse and rich music scene.

Over the course of the album, we take in everything from the unforgiving doom metal of Undersmile and the heartfelt Americana of Toliesel, to the instrumental post rock of Listing Ships, and speakeasy jazz of The Original Rabbit Foot Spasm Band. There’s also the spiky post-punk of Spinner Fall and Hot Hooves, going alongside the droney experimentation of Opened Space and Lee Riley’s LR/GW project.

The album, which also features the beautiful songwriting of Jess Hall, Tamara and The Martyrs and Jordan O’Shea on its 19-strong tracklist, is released on 16 June for a minimum donation of just £4 to Shelter, and can be preordered now from

The tracklisting for Music For A Good Home – Oxford Edition is as follows:
1. Toliesel – Brothers
2. Kid Kin – Frippery The Villain
3. Undersmile – Killer Bob
4. Jess Hall – Sail Home
5. The Original Rabbit Foot Spasm Band – Eynsham Witches (live)
6. Reichenbach Falls – The Best I Could
7. Hot Hooves – Limp Home Mode
8. Jordan O’Shea – These Songs Are About You, They’re Not For You
9. LR/GW – Heaven’s Silver Shadow
10. The Scholars – False Start
11. ArtClassSink – Cry For Help
12. Coma Wall – You Are My Death
13. Listing Ships – Trace Inverter (Karhide Wolves remix)
14. Opened Space – The Clearing
15. Spinner Fall – By Numbers
16. Tamara And The Martyrs – Real Bad Lover
17. Agness Pike – Boing Boing Boing
18. D Gwalia – Illuminations
19. We Aeronauts – Cope

The Oxford album goes alongside Music For A Good Home 3, which we announced last week. Featuring 31 new and exclusive tracks from the likes of Amon Tobin, Future of the Left, Seefeel and John Parish, it brings together some of the world’s finest alternative musicians to fight homelessness with every copy.

You can pre-order Music For A Good Home 3 for £7 and see the full tracklisting by clicking here.